Palmerston and Rural Region (PARR) Sport is a non-profit organisation that provides numerous sporting programs and pathways for students between the ages of 9 – 19 Years. Through the provision of a range of sporting opportunities, PARR School Sport aims to promote and educate students about responsibility, teamwork, communication, self-confidence and achievement.

PARR School Sport facilitates this through a variety of ways such as interschool sports days. Schools from Palmerston city, Rural Schools and Remote Area Schools are all invited to attend and students from grades 4-6 for Primary Schools, 7-9 for Middle Schools and 10-12 for Senior Schools are all eligible to attend. The focus of these days is to support and build upon the skills learnt in the school-setting, to further develop and improve students’ abilities through match play. Schools may nominate as many teams as they wish with students of all standards encouraged to take part. Some sports will be split into two separate days to allow for large numbers and/or geographical location (Palmerston Urban and Rural/Remote Schools). Approximately 16 different sports are offered in our program with the cost to students who wish to attend these days set at $8 (may vary slightly for different sports).

PARR School Sport also run the trials, selections, trainings and development of teams participating in the School Sport NT (SSNT) Championships and Development Camps. Students are selected through after-school trials, and successful selection will see students representing the PARR region at SSNT events. A number of students each year use this pathway to gain representation in Northern Territory teams to then compete at School Sport Australia events.

PARR School Sport cannot function without the contribution of a number of both parent and teacher volunteers. The region is always looking for volunteers with expertise to help deliver quality coaching and skill development for our students. Coaches and team managers are chosen by the PARR School Sport Board and are selected based off the applications lodged by interested individuals. The team official application form is available in the “Forms” section of this website.


Schools in the PARR Region

  • Adelaide River School
  • Bakewell Primary School
  • Batchelor Area School
  • Bees Creek Primary School
  • Belyuen School
  • Berry Springs Primary School
  • Douglas Daly School
  • Driver Primary School
  • Dundee Beach School
  • Durack School
  • Forrest Parade School
  • Girraween Primary School
  • Good Shepherd (Palmerston and Howard Springs)
  • Gray Primary School
  • Gunbalanya Community School
  • Haileybury Rendall School
  • Howard Springs Primary School
  • Humpty Doo Primary School
  • Jabiru Area School
  • Mackillop Catholic College
  • Mamaruni School
  • Middle Point School
  • Milikapiti School
  • Mother Teresa Catholic Primary School
  • Murrupurtiyanuwu Catholic Primary School
  • Nganambala School
  • Nganmarriyanga School
  • Our Lady of Sacred Heart Thamarrurr Catholic College (Wadeye)
  • Palmerston Christian Schools
  • Palmerston College
  • Peppimenarti School
  • Pularumpi School
  • Rosebery Primary School
  • Sacred Heart Catholic Primary School
  • Sattler Christian College
  • St Francis Xavier Catholic College
  • Taminmin College
  • Tipperary Station School
  • Tiwi College (Melville Island)
  • Woodroffe Primary School
  • Woolaning School
  • Woolianna School
  • Xavier College (Bathurst Island)
  • Zuccolli Primary School

PARRS Region Sport Education Coordinator:

PARRS Region School Sport NT Administration Assistant:

PARRS Region School Sport Office

  • 0448 117 660
  • Level 2 Goyder Building, Cnr Chung Wah Terrace and The Boulavard, Palmerston NT 0830

Copyright 2019 by School Sport NT. All rights reserved.